Language selector

disability

Letter to education providers re: recommendations to improve educational outcomes for students with disabilities

August 24, 2018 - I am writing today to provide you with a confidential copy of the executive summary and recommendations for the OHRC's Policy on accessible education for students with disabilities. The new policy reflects case law developments, international human rights standards and evolving social science research, and also includes recommendations to key actors in the sector.

Letter to Ministers re: accessible education for students with disabilities

August 21, 2018 - I am writing today to provide you with an advance copy of the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s (OHRC) Policy on accessible education for students with disabilities. The new policy reflects case law developments, international human rights standards and evolving social science research, and also includes recommendations to key actors in the sector.

Policy on accessible education for students with disabilities


The Ontario Human Rights Code  recognizes the importance of creating a climate of understanding and mutual respect for the dignity and worth of each person, so that each person can contribute fully to the development and well-being of the community and the Province. The Code guarantees the right to equal treatment in education, without discrimination on the ground of disability, as part of the protection for equal treatment in services.

This Policy replaces the Guidelines on accessible education (2004).

Questions and answers on cannabis and the Human Rights Code

September 2018 - Cannabis or “marijuana” laws are changing in Canada. It will now be legal for people age 19 or older in Ontario to buy, possess, use and grow recreational cannabis. Provincial laws generally permit cannabis use wherever laws permit tobacco use. Cannabis use for a medical purpose (medical cannabis) continues to be legal.

Employers and employees, housing providers and residents, and other organizations and individuals are asking about the implications under Ontario’s Human Rights Code.

Policy statement on cannabis and the Human Rights Code

September 2018 - Ontario’s Human Rights Code and the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s policies apply to cannabis in the same way they do for other drugs. The Code protects people who use cannabis for a medical purpose related to a disability from discriminatory treatment in employment, housing, services and other areas. The Code also prohibits discrimination against people who have or are perceived to have an addiction to cannabis based on the ground of disability.

RE: University-Mandated Leave of Absence Policy ­raises human rights concerns

I am writing today to outline the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s concerns regarding the University of Toronto’s proposed University-Mandated Leave of Absence Policy which is being considered by the University Affairs Board tomorrow (January 30, 2018). The OHRC is concerned that the treatment of students contemplated in the Policy may result in discrimination on the basis of mental health disability contrary to the Human Rights Code.

OHRC calls for government accountability to advance the human rights of prisoners with mental health disabilities

September 26, 2017

Toronto – Today, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) announced new legal action to advance the human rights of prisoners with mental health disabilities in Ontario’s correctional facilities at a press conference at Queen’s Park.

Leadership needed to fight racism

July 25, 2017

A few months ago, I visited Thunder Bay and had the opportunity to speak with members of the Indigenous community. Community members told me about their concerns related to policing and child welfare, trafficking of Indigenous women and girls, and everyday racism in almost every facet of their lives including employment, housing, healthcare and retail. Most strikingly, people talked about being “garbaged” – literally having garbage thrown at them while walking down the street, all because of their Indigenous ancestry. I brought these concerns to the leaders that I met later in the day, including the Mayor and police.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - disability

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

handicap

Lettre aux professionnels de l'éducation concernant nos recommandations en vue d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des élèves handicapés

Le 24 août 2018 - Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous fournir un exemplaire confidentiel du sommaire et des recommandations de la Politique sur l’éducation accessible aux élèves handicapés de la CODP. La nouvelle politique tient compte de l’évolution de la jurisprudence, des normes internationales relatives aux droits de la personne et des recherches en sciences sociales, et comprend également des recommandations à l’intention des acteurs clés du secteur.

Lettre aux ministères concernant l'éducation accessible pour les étudiants handicapés

Le 21 août 2018 - Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous fournir un exemplaire préliminaire de la Politique sur l’éducation accessible aux élèves handicapés de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP). La nouvelle politique tient compte de l’évolution de la jurisprudence, des normes internationales relatives aux droits de la personne et des recherches en sciences sociales, et comprend également des recommandations à l’intention des acteurs clés du secteur.

Politique sur l'éducation accessible aux élèves handicapés




Le Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario insiste sur l’importance de créer un climat de compréhension et de respect mutuel à l’égard de la dignité et de la valeur de toutes et tous, afin que chaque personne puisse contribuer pleinement à l’avancement et au bien-être de la collectivité et de la province. Le Code garantit le droit à un traitement égal en matière d’éducation, sans discrimination fondée sur le handicap, aux termes des dispositions relatives au traitement égal en matière de services.

Cette politique remplace les Directives concernant l'éducation accessible (2004).

Déclaration de principes concernant le cannabis et le Code des droits de la personne

Septembre 2018 - Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario et les politiques de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personnes’appliquent au cannabis au même titre qu’aux autres drogues. Le Code protège les personnes qui consomment du cannabis à des fins médicales liées à un handicap contre toute discrimination dans les domaines de l’emploi, du logement, des services ou autres. Le Code interdit également toute discrimination envers les personnes qui ont une dépendance ou sont perçues comme ayant une dépendance au cannabis, aux termes de ses protections contre la discrimination au motif du handicap.

Objet : Préoccupations soulevées par la « politique sur les absences imposées par l’université » au regard des droits de la personne

Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous faire part des préoccupations de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne à l’égard de la « politique sur les absences imposées par l’université » (University-Mandated Leave of Absence Policy) (la Politique), laquelle est proposée par l’Université de Toronto et qui sera examinée par le comité des affaires universitaires (University Affairs Board) demain (le 30 janvier 2018).

Objet : Préoccupations soulevées par la « politique sur les absences imposées par l’université » au regard des droits de la personne

 Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour vous faire part des préoccupations de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne à l’égard de la « politique sur les absences imposées par l’université » (University-Mandated Leave of Absence Policy) (la Politique), laquelle est proposée par l’Université de Toronto et qui sera examinée par le comité des affaires universitaires (University Affairs Board) demain (le 30 janvier 2018). La CODP craint que le traitement des étudiantes et étudiants visés par la Politique puisse entraîner une discrimination fondée sur les troubles mentaux, en violation du Code des droits de la personne. 

La CODP demande que le gouvernement fasse preuve de responsabilité afin d’assurer les droits de la personne des prisonniers aux prises avec des déficiences mentales

Septembre 26, 2017

Toronto – Aujourd’hui, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a annoncé l’adoption de nouvelles mesures juridiques pour assurer les droits de la personne des prisonniers aux prises avec des déficiences mentales dans les établissements correctionnels de l’Ontario, lors d’une conférence de presse organisée à Queen’s Park.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - handicap