Language selector

backgrounder

Voices from the community

[The] public school refused to acknowledge or accept the dyslexia diagnosis until she was seven. … Without timely remediation, my daughter is barely able to read and write in English as she enters Grade 3. … In the meantime, her mental health is strained because she is keenly aware of her learning differences and extremely frustrated by the fact that she struggles to read and write. … Last year she asked Santa Claus for “the power to read” – she’s still wondering if she’ll ever get her wish.

  • Parent of 8-year-old

 

Voices from community partners

The Learning Disabilities Associations (LDAs) across Canada started from the Toronto office in 1963 and today is overseen coast-to-coast by the LDA of Canada. The LDAC led the efforts involving the Geoffrey Moore case where the Supreme Court of Canada examined the rights to education and considered the “ramp” required for those with Learning Disabilities to have the access they deserve. Learning Disabilities Association of Ontario (LDAO) is committed to students with Learning Disabilities being given the best possible opportunities to succeed in Ontario schools and therefore looks forward t

OHRC initiatives related to disability and education 1999 – 2019

2019

Letter to Minister of Education re: Policy/Program Memorandum (PPM) – school board policies on service animals

Letter

The OHRC responded to the Ministry of Education’s consultation on its draft PPM for school board policies on service animals in schools. The OHRC recommended revisions such as recognizing that the duty to accommodate disability also includes individual needs not related to learning needs.

Right to Read : Ontario Human Rights Commission Inquiry into human rights issues that affect students with reading disabilities in Ontario’s public education system : Terms of reference

Reading is a fundamental skill that students must have to navigate their school experience and their later lives. Our public schools should be able to teach students
to read. Yet, this may not be the reality for students with reading disabilities.

Sexual harassment & sex discrimination at work

From: OHRC policy position on sexualized and gender-specific dress codes

March 8, 2016 - The OHRC recognizes the severe impacts of sexual harassment on working women and trans people. It can reduce employees’ morale, decrease productivity and contribute to physical and emotional effects such as anxiety, depression and posttraumatic stress disorder. The United Nations’ Declaration of the Elimination of Violence Against Women specifically recognizes that sexual harassment is a form of violence against women.

Eliminating discrimination to advance the human rights of women and transgender people

From: OHRC policy position on sexualized and gender-specific dress codes

March 8, 2016 - Through its public education, policy development, outreach and litigation functions, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) continues to work with community partners to challenge gender inequality and promote and advance the human rights of women and trans people in Ontario. Here is some of the work the OHRC has done in the past year:  

Backgrounder – Talking about gender identity and gender expression

April 2014 ­­­­- Over the years, the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has taken steps to address discrimination because of gender identity. In 1999, the OHRC released “Toward a Commission Policy on Gender Identity” for public comment. In 2000, the OHRC released its first Policy on discrimination and harassment because of gender identity, taking the position that the ground of “sex” could be interpreted to include gender identity. Following the release of this policy, the OHRC continued to call for explicit recognition of gender identity as a protected ground in Ontario”s Human Rights Code.

Human rights and creed: emerging issues (backgrounder)

September 2013 - The OHRC is currently updating its 1996 Policy on creed. The goal is to clarify the OHRC’s interpretation of human rights based on creed under the Ontario Human Rights Code (the Code) and advance human rights understanding and good practice in this area. The update, which began in 2011, will take two to three years to finish. It will involve extensive research and consultation, and will draw on lessons learned from the OHRC’s recent work on the Policy on competing human rights.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - backgrounder

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

fiche de renseignements

Témoignages de la communauté

L’école publique a refusé de reconnaître le diagnostic de dyslexie jusqu’à ses 7 ans. … Faute d’orthopédagogie en temps opportun, ma fille savait à peine lire et écrire en anglais en arrivant en 3e année. … Entre-temps, sa santé mentale a été mise à rude épreuve parce qu’elle était très consciente de ses difficultés d’apprentissage et extrêmement frustrée d’avoir du mal à lire et à écrire. … L’année dernière, elle a demandé au père Noël qu’il lui offre « le pouvoir de lire ». Elle se demande encore si son souhait se réalisera un jour.

Témoignages de partenaires communautaires

Les associations de troubles d'apprentissage au Canada ont vu le jour en 1963 au bureau de Toronto et sont aujourd'hui supervisées dans tout le pays par la TAAC (Troubles d'Apprentissage - Association canadienne). La TAAC a mené les démarches concernant l'affaire Geoffrey Moore dans laquelle la Cour suprême du Canada a examiné les droits à l'éducation et envisagé le « cheminement » à suivre pour que les personnes ayant des troubles d'apprentissage disposent de l'accès auquel elles ont droit. L'Association ontarienne des troubles d'apprentissage s'engage à offrir aux élèves ayant des trouble

Le droit de lire Enquête de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne sur des questions touchant les élèves ayant des troubles de lecture dans le système d’éducation publique de l’Ontario: Mandat

La lecture est une compétence de base que les élèves doivent maîtriser pour réussir à l’école et, plus tard, dans la vie. Il faudrait que les élèves qui fréquentent nos écoles publiques puissent y apprendre à lire. Pourtant, cela n’est pas toujours le cas pour les élèves ayant des troubles de lecture.

Politique relative à la protection des renseignements personnels et de la vie privée: Enquête sur les troubles de lecture

Harcèlement sexuel et discrimination fondée sur le sexe au travail

From: Position de la CODP sur les codes vestimentaires sexualisés et fondés sur le sexe

Le 8 mars 2016 - la CODP reconnaissait les effets graves du harcèlement sexuel sur les employées de sexe féminin et personnes trans. Le harcèlement sexuel peut miner le moral des employés, réduire la productivité et contribuer à des difficultés physiques et émotionnelles comme l’anxiété, la dépression et l’état de stress post-traumatique. La Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence à l’égard des femmes des Nations Unies stipule que le harcèlement sexuel est une forme de violence faite aux femmes.

Éliminer la discrimination pour faire progresser les droits des femmes et des personnes trans

From: Position de la CODP sur les codes vestimentaires sexualisés et fondés sur le sexe

Par l’entremise de ses activités d’éducation publique, d’élaboration de politiques, de rayonnement et d’intervention devant les tribunaux, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) continue de collaborer avec ses partenaires communautaires pour éliminer les inégalités entre les sexes et faire progresser les droits de la personne des femmes et des personnes trans de l’Ontario.

Fiche de renseignements – À propos de l’identité sexuelle et de l’expression de l’identité sexuelle

Avril 2014 ­­­­- Au fil des ans, la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a pris des mesures pour enrayer la discrimination fondée sur l’identité sexuelle. En 1999, la CODP a rendu public le document Vers une politique de la Commission sur l’identité sexuelle à des fins d’obtention des commentaires des membres du public[1]. En 2000, la CODP a publié sa première politique sur la discrimination et le harcèlement fondés sur l’identité sexuelle, dans laquelle elle prenait position en étendant à l’identité sexuelle le motif de discrimination interdit par le Code que constitue le « sexe ». À la suite de la publication de cette politique, la CODP a continué d’intervenir en faveur de la reconnaissance explicite de l’identité sexuelle en tant que motif de discrimination interdit protégé par le Code.

Les droits de la personne et la croyance : questions émergentes (fiche)

septembre 2013 - La CODP met actuellement à jour sa Politique sur la croyance de 1996. Cette mise à jour vise à clarifier l’interprétation, par la CODP, des droits de la personne en ce qui concerne la croyance, en vertu du Code des droits de la personne (le Code) de l’Ontario, et à promouvoir la compréhension des droits de la personne et des bonnes pratiques dans ce domaine. La mise à jour de la politique, entamée en 2011, prendra deux à trois ans. Elle s’appuiera sur des recherches et des consultations exhaustives, et tiendra compte des enseignements tirés des travaux récemment menés par la CODP dans le cadre de la Politique sur les droits de la personne contradictoires.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - fiche de renseignements