Language selector

policy

Policy and guidelines on disability and the duty to accommodate

November 2000 - Under the Code, everyone has the right to be free from discrimination because of disability or perceived disability in the social areas of employment, services, goods, facilities, housing, contracts and membership in trade and vocational associations. This right means that persons with disabilities have the right to equal treatment, which includes the right to accessible workplaces, public transit, health services, restaurants, shops and housing.

Policy on drug and alcohol testing

September 2000 - Drug and alcohol testing are of particular concern in the workplace, notably for those Ontario employers that have safety sensitive operations, and/or that are subject to U.S. regulatory requirements (e.g. the trucking industry) or to the policies of U.S. affiliates with “zero tolerance” for the consumption of drugs or alcohol. For this reason, this Policy focuses on the workplace. However, it applies to other social areas as well.

Policy on discrimination and harassment because of sexual orientation

January 2006 - This policy sets out the position of the OHRC with respect to sexual orientation at the time of publication, and replaces the OHRC’s earlier policy, approved in January 2000. The policy was developed based on extensive research and community consultations, and was updated in 2006 to reflect the significant legal and legislative changes that took place after the initial document was approved. This policy deals primarily with issues that could form the basis of a human rights claim of discrimination. The policy is therefore bounded by the provisions of the Code and Canada’s legal framework for analyzing discrimination. At the same time, the policy interprets the protections in the Code in a broad and purposive manner.

Policy on scholarships and awards

July 1997 - This policy deals with scholarships or other forms of awards or grants that are available only on a limited basis to individuals who are identified by a ground set out in the Code. These grounds include race, sex, colour, religion, age and ethnic origin, to name a few. These types of scholarships or awards are called "exclusionary" because only certain individuals can apply for them, while others, who do not share the same characteristics, are excluded.

Policy on HIV/AIDS-related discrimination

November 1996 - This policy clarifies the scope of the Code's protection for persons who are or are perceived to be infected with HIV or who have contracted HIV-related illnesses. The guidelines contained in this policy are based on extensive consultations between the OHRC and a wide-ranging number of interest and advocacy groups, employer groups, services providers, and members of the medical community, including hospital administrators.

Policy on creed and the accommodation of religious observances

October 1996 - Creed is a prohibited ground of discrimination under the Code. Every person has the right to equal treatment with respect to services, goods, facilities, employment, the occupancy of accommodation, the right to enter into contracts and the right to join trade unions or other vocational associations, without discrimination because of creed. These policy guidelines set out the position of the OHRC with respect to creed and the accommodation of religious observances related to a person's creed.

Policy on requiring a driver's licence as a condition of employment

September 2000 - A driver's licence contains personal information about an individual which could lead to the classification of a job applicant according to a prohibited ground of discrimination, contrary to subsection 23(2) of the Code. Therefore, unless a driver's licence is required to enable a person to perform the essential duties of a job, it should not be requested in an application form or during an employment interview.

Policy on height and weight requirements

June 1996 - Standards for height and weight are sometimes used to screen or evaluate job applicants. In the OHRC's experience, this tends to occur in recruitment for occupations that traditionally have been male dominated. These standards or selection criteria are based on the average physical stature of men in the majority population group. Women and members of racialized groups are, on the average, physically smaller than members of the majority population group. Consequently, these groups tend to be disadvantaged by height and weight criteria. The policy of the OHRC with regard to such recruitment practices is set out below. This policy applies to all height and weight criteria used in the context of employment.

Policy on discrimination and language

June 1996 - This policy statement sets out the OHRC’s position on language-based discrimination in the areas of employment, accommodation, services, contracts, and membership in trade unions, trades, occupational associations or self-governing professions. Although the Code does not explicitly identify "language" as a prohibited ground of discrimination, the Human Rights tribunal of Ontario may consider claims under a number of related grounds, such as ancestry, ethnic origin, place of origin and in some circumstances, race. In the Commission's experience, language can be an element of a complaint based on any of these grounds.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - policy

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

politique

Politique sur la discrimination fondée sur l'âge à l'endroit des personne âgées

Février 2007 - La présente politique énonce la position de la CODP au sujet de la discrimination à l’endroit des personnes âgées, telle qu’elle est abordée dans les dispositions du Code. Elle porte seulement sur des questions visées par les parties I et II du Code pouvant servir de base à une requête en matière de droits de la personne. Il est temps d’agir examine d’un point de vue plus large les politiques sociales et autres questions qui devraient faire l’objet de mesures positives de la part du gouvernement et de la société. De plus, la CODP a déjà entrepris et continuera de mettre en oeuvre des initiatives visant à aborder les problématiques plus larges des droits de la personne concernant l’âge.

Politique et directives concernant le handicap et l'obligation d'accommodement

Novembre 2000 - Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario (le « Code ») précise que toute personne a le droit d’être exempte de discrimination en raison d’un handicap ou de la perception d’un handicap dans les domaines de l’emploi, des services, des biens, des installations, du logement, des contrats et de l’adhésion à des associations professionnelles ou sectorielles. Cela signifie que les personnes handicapées ont droit à un traitement égal notamment en matière d’accessibilité aux lieux de travail, aux transports en commun, aux services de santé, aux restaurants, aux magasins et au logement.

Politique sur les tests de dépistage de la consommation de drogues et d’alcool

Septembre 2000 - Les tests de dépistage de la consommation de drogues et d’alcool sont d’un intérêt particulier en ce qui touche le milieu de travail, notamment pour les employeurs ontariens dont l’exploitation présente des risques sur le plan de la sécurité et (ou) qui sont soumis aux exigences réglementaires des États Unis (par exemple l’industrie du transport routier) ou aux politiques des pays ayant adopté celles des États-Unis, qui prescrivent une « tolérance zéro » à l’égard de la consommation de drogues et d’alcool. Pour cette raison, la présente politique est surtout axée sur le milieu de travail; elle s’applique toutefois à d’autres sphères de la vie sociale.

Politique concernant la discrimination et le harcèlement fondés sur l'orientation sexuelle

Janvier 2006 - La présente politique énonce la position de la CODP relativement à l’orientation sexuelle au moment de la publication et vient remplacer la politique antérieure adoptée par la CODP en janvier 2000. Cette politique a été élaborée après des recherches et des consultations approfondies au sein de la communauté et elle a été mise à jour en 2006 pour tenir compte des importantes modifications juridiques et législatives qui ont été apportées depuis l’approbation du premier document. Cette politique porte principalement sur les questions qui forment la base d'une requête en matière de discrimination. La politique est donc circonscrite par les dispositions du Code Ontario et par le cadre législatif canadien servant à analyser les questions de discrimination. En même temps, la politique aborde les protections prévues dans le Code en en donnant une interprétation large et fondée sur l’objet visé.

Politique relative aux bourses d'études restrictives

Juillet 1997 - La politique exposée ici traite des bourses d’études (subventions, récompenses etc.) qui ne sont offertes qu’à des personnes identifiées par un motif illicite de discrimination énoncé dans le Code, entre autres la race, le sexe, la couleur, la religion, l’âge et l’origine ethnique. Ces types de bourses sont «restrictives» puisque certaines personnes peuvent y avoir droit, tandis que d’autres, qui ne partagent pas les mêmes caractéristiques, n’ont aucune chance de les obtenir.

Politique concernant la discrimination liée au VIH et au SIDA

Novembre 1996 - Ce document vise à expliquer l'ampleur de la protection que le Code offre aux personnes infectées par le VIH ou présumées l'être, de même qu'aux personnes atteintes d'une maladie liée au VIH. Cette politique est issue de vastes consultations que la CODP a tenues avec de nombreux groupes d'intérêt et d'intervention, groupes d'employeurs, fournisseurs de services et représentants de la communauté médicale, y compris des administrateurs des hôpitaux.

Politique sur la croyance et les mesures d'adaptation relatives aux observances religieuses

Octobre 1996 - La croyance est un motif illicite de discrimination énoncé dans le Code. Toute personne a droit à un traitement égal en matière de services, de biens ou d'installations, d'emploi, d'occupation de logement, de conclusion de contrats ou d'adhésion à un syndicat ou une association commerciale ou professionnelle, sans discrimination fondée sur la croyance. Cet énoncé de politique définit la position de la CODP en ce qui a trait à la croyance et aux mesures d'adaptation relatives aux observances religieuses liées à la croyance d'une personne.

Politique concernant le permis de conduire comme condition d'emploi

Septembre 2000 - Le permis de conduire contient des informations privées sur la personne qui pourraient permettre de classer un candidat de manière fondée sur un motif illicite de discrimination, ce qui contreviendrait au paragraphe 23(2) du Code. Par conséquent, à moins que le permis de conduire ne soit nécessaire pour permettre à la personne de remplir les obligations essentielles d'un poste, on ne doit pas l'exiger sur une formule de demande d'emploi ou lors d'une entrevue d'emploi.

Politique concernant le poids et la grandeur comme exigences professionelles

Juin 1996 - Il arrive qu'un employeur se serve de normes de poids et de grandeur pour présélectionner et évaluer les personnes candidates à un emploi. La CODP a surtout constaté cette pratique en ce qui concerne le recrutement dans des métiers traditionnellement dominés par les hommes. Ces normes ou critères de sélection sont basés sur la carrure moyenne des hommes faisant partie du groupe majoritaire au sein de la population. Les femmes et les hommes appartenant à certains groupes racialisés sont, en moyenne, plus petits et moins forts que les membres du groupe majoritaire, et de ce fait, les critères de poids et de grandeur les mettent dans une position désavantageuse. Ce document énonce la politique adoptée par la CODP à l'égard de ce type de pratiques de recrutement. Elle s'applique à l'ensemble des critères de poids et de grandeur utilisés dans le domaine de l'emploi.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - politique