Language selector

accommodation (housing)

OHRC Submission to the MMAH on proposed changes to the Ontario Building Code

March 1 2013 - The OHRC recognizes that accessibility requirements have been enhanced with each new edition of the Building Code regulation and welcomes the latest proposal for new barrier-free design requirements. The OHRC also has a number of concerns about the proposed changes as well as additional recommendations for barrier-free requirements in the Building Code regulation.

MMAH Provincial Policy Statement Review on land use planning - OHRC letter

December 7, 2012

Dear Minister, Please find attached the submission of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) regarding the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing’s proposed amendments to the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) 2005 on land use planning. The OHRC made an initial submission when your Ministry’s review began in 2010.

MMAH Provincial Policy Statement Review on land use planning - OHRC submission

November 23, 2012 - The Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing (MMAH) is proposing amendments to the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) 2005 on land use planning issued under the Planning Act (Act). The Act requires the PPS be reviewed every five years. The Ministry began the review in March 2010. The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is pleased to see proposed amendments that address some of the concerns and recommendations from its initial submission made in 2010 as well as other amendments that would further advance protection for human rights. The OHRC especially welcomes proposed additions that would recognize the interests of Aboriginal communities.

OHRC granted party status in Lynwood Charlton Centre OMB appeal

November 5, 2012

In a decision on October 31, the Ontario Municipal Board (OMB) granted the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) party status in the Lynwood Charlton Centre’s appeal of a decision by the City of Hamilton. The OHRC requested party status because of its concerns about human rights issues when the City turned down Lynwood Charlton’s request to move its housing for eight teenage girls with mental health issues.

OHRC seeks to intervene in Lynwood Charlton Centre OMB appeal

October 4, 2012

Toronto – The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) has made a formal request to the Ontario Municipal Board to intervene in the Lynwood Charlton Centre’s appeal of a decision by the City of Hamilton. This step is based on the OHRC’s concerns about human rights issues when the City denied Lynwood Charlton the zoning required to move housing for eight teenage girls with mental health issues.

OHRC releases consultation report on human rights, mental health and addictions

September 13, 2012

Toronto – The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) today released Minds that matter: Report on the consultation on human rights, mental health and addictions. This report outlines what the OHRC heard in its largest-ever policy consultation across Ontario, and sets out a number of key recommendations and OHRC commitments to address human rights issues that affect people with mental health disabilities or addictions.

11. Housing

From: Minds that matter: Report on the consultation on human rights, mental health and addictions

The lack of affordable and suitable housing across Ontario was raised by individuals with mental health and addiction disabilities, and organizations. Statistics Canada’s 2006 Participation Activity Limitation Survey (PALS) shows that in Ontario, people with “emotional” disabilities are more likely to be in core housing need than the non-disabled population and people with other types of disabilities.

Close to home: housing highlights

From: Annual Report 2011-2012 - Human rights: the next generation

Zoning in on zoning

Every day, people across Ontario face barriers to finding or keeping rental housing because of disability, age, race, creed, sexual orientation, disability, receipt of social assistance, family status, and other grounds of the Human Rights Code. These barriers often arise because landlords make assumptions about people based on characteristics that usually have nothing to do with their ability to be good tenants.

2. Practical steps to reduce potential for conflict

From: Policy on competing human rights

Employers, housing providers, educators and other responsible parties covered by the Code have the ultimate responsibility for maintaining an inclusive environment that is free from discrimination and harassment, and where everyone’s human rights are respected. Organizations and institutions operating in Ontario have a legal duty to take steps to prevent and respond to situations involving competing rights.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

Observations de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne à l'attention de la réunion publique réglementaire au sujet de l'ébauche de règlement de zonage applicable à toute la ville

Mars 2013 - La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a le plaisir de soumettre ses commentaires au sujet de l'ébauche de règlement de zonage de la ville de Toronto. Nous craignons que certaines questions relatives aux droits de la personne n'aient toujours pas été prises en considération.

Mémoire de la CODP au MAML sur les modifications proposées au Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario

1er mars 2013 - La CODP reconnait que les exigences en matière d’accessibilité ont été renforcées à chaque nouvelle édition du Code du bâtiment. À ce titre, la CODP accueille favorablement la dernière proposition de nouvelles exigences en matière d’accessibilité. La CODP exprime un certain nombre de préoccupations concernant les changements proposés et recommande d’ajouter dans le Code du bâtiment des exigences supplémentaires en matière d’accessibilité.

Examen de la Déclaration de principes provinciale relative à l’aménagement du territoire menée par le MAML – Lettre de la CODP

Décembre 7, 2012

Monsieur, Vous trouverez ci-joint le Mémoire de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne portant sur les modifications proposées par le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement à la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) de 2005 relative à l’aménagement du territoire. La CODP a déposé un mémoire initial sur la question lorsque votre ministère a entrepris son examen de la DPP, en 2010.

Examen de la Déclaration de principes provinciale relative à l’aménagement du territoire menée par le MAML – Mémoire de la CODP

Le 23 november 2012 - Le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement (MAML) propose d’apporter des modifications à la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) de 2005 relative à l’aménagement du territoire, émise aux termes de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire (Loi). La Loi prévoit le réexamen de la DPP tous les cinq ans. Le ministère à entrepris la révision de la DPP en mars 2010. La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) est heureuse de voir que des modifications ont été proposées pour régler des préoccupations et mettre en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans ses commentaires initiaux, soumis en 2010, et protéger davantage les droits de la personne. Surtout, la CODP accueille favorablement les ajouts proposés en vue de reconnaître les intérêts des communautés autochtones.

La CODP obtient la qualité de partie dans l'appel du Lynwood Charlton Centre devant la CAMO

Novembre 5, 2012

Dans une décision du 31 octobre, la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario (CAMO) a accordé à la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) la qualité de partie dans l'appel interjeté par le Lynwood Charlton Centre d'une décision de la ville de Hamilton. La CODP a demandé la qualité de partie, car elle craignait que des droits de la personne ne soient en jeu après que la ville a refusé à Lynwood Charlton le zonage nécessaire pour déplacer un logement pour huit adolescentes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

La CODP veut intervenir dans l'appel du Lynwood Charlton Centre devant la CAMO

Octobre 4, 2012

Toronto – La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a déposé une demande formelle à la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario en vue d'intervenir dans l'appel interjeté par le Lynwood Charlton Centre d'une décision prise par la ville de Hamilton. La CODP a fait cette demande, car elle craint que des droits de la personne ne soient en jeu après que la ville a refusé à Lynwood Charlton le zonage nécessaire pour déplacer un logement pour huit adolescentes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

La CODP publie son rapport consultation sur les droits de la personne, les troubles mentaux et les dépendances

Septembre 13, 2012

Toronto – La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) a publié aujourd’hui Parce qu’on Importe! Rapport de la consultation sur les droits de la personne, les troubles mentaux et les dépendances. Ce rapport fait état de ce que révèle la plus vaste consultation stratégique à l’échelle de l’Ontario de l’histoire de la CODP et établit des recommandations clés et engagements de la CODP afin de régler les questions de droits de la personne auxquelles se heurtent les personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux ou dépendances.

11. Logement

From: Parce qu’on importe!

La question du manque de logements abordables et convenables à l’échelle de l’Ontario a été soulevée par des personnes aux prises avec des troubles mentaux et des dépendances, et des organisations. L’Enquête sur la participation et les limitations d’activités (EPLA) de 2006 de Statistique Canada montre qu’en Ontario, les personnes aux prises avec des troubles « émotifs » sont plus susceptibles que les personnes non handicapées ou aux prises avec d’autres types de handicaps d’avoir un besoin impérieux de logement.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement