Language selector

accommodation (housing)

Rental housing licensing Inquiries

 

Two public interest inquiries by the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) will explore if new rental housing licensing bylaws in North Bay and Waterloo create discriminatory barriers to rental housing. The inquiries are being conducted under the OHRC’s Human Rights Code mandate to promote, advance and protect human rights in Ontario.

Re: Information Report on the Lynwood Charlton Centre (CM12005)

April 3, 2012

Your Worship and Councillors, I am writing to restate my concerns about the human rights implications raised by the zoning application by the Lynwood Charlton Centre. As stated in my letter of January 24, 2012, applying the radial separation distance to this application makes one ask whether the City of Hamilton is creating discriminatory barriers for vulnerable people.

Inquiries launched into rental housing licensing in North Bay, Waterloo

March 8, 2012

Toronto – Two public interest inquiries by the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) will explore if new rental housing licensing bylaws in North Bay and Waterloo create discriminatory barriers to rental housing. New bylaws in the two municipalities come into force in the next few months – Waterloo’s on April 1, 2012 and North Bay’s on May 1, 2012.

In the zone: Housing, human rights and municipal planning

2012 - This guide offers an overview of the human rights responsibilities of municipalities in housing. It offers information about the various legislated tools municipalities have, and shows some examples of how municipal planners, councillors, Housing Service Managers, District Social Service Boards and others can use “best practices” to overcome discriminatory neighbourhood opposition and promote housing that is free from discrimination. The guide can also be a resource for organizations and advocates who are working with municipalities to advance human rights in housing.

Building human rights into municipal planning is aim of new OHRC guide

February 17, 2012

Kingston - Attorney General John Gerretsen today joined Barbara Hall, Chief Commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission, to launch In the zone: Housing, human rights and municipal planning. The guide offers municipalities information about their legal obligations, and about the tools and best practices they can apply to connect human rights and housing when making zoning and planning decisions.

5. Discrimination and rental housing

From: Human rights and mental health research and policy consultation paper

In 2007, the OHRC conducted a consultation on discrimination in rental housing. We heard about the concerns that many people with mental health and addiction issues face in renting and keeping housing. We reported on these concerns in Right at home: Report on the consultation on human rights and rental housing in Ontario, and developed our Policy on human rights and rental housing.

The shadow of the law: Surveying the case law dealing with competing rights claims

This document explains the legal backdrop for the Commission’s Policy Framework. It is divided into two main sections. The first provides an overview and summary of key legal principles from some significant legal decisions. This section aims to help readers understand the relevant legal background when seeking to conciliate or otherwise reconcile competing rights claims. The second part of the document surveys the leading cases that deal with competing rights. It also provides examples of situations where the leading cases, and the key principles from them, have been applied by courts and tribunals. It is divided by the types of rights conflicts that most commonly arise. The cases are discussed in some detail as the specific factual context of each case is so important to the rights reconciliation process.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - accommodation (housing)

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP

logement

2. Mesures pratiques en vue de réduire le potentiel de conflits

From: Politique sur les droits de la personne contradictoires

Il incombe aux employeurs, fournisseurs de logements, éducateurs et autres parties responsables visés par le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario de maintenir un environnement inclusif libre de discrimination et de harcèlement, qui respecte les droits de la personne de tous. Les organisations et groupements qui mènent des activités en Ontario sont tenus, selon la loi, de prendre des mesures pour prévenir les situations de droits contradictoires, et régler celles qui surviennent.

Objet : Rapport d’information sur le Lynwood Charlton Centre (CM12005)

Avril 3, 2012

Mesdames et Messieurs, Je vous écris pour vous reformuler mes préoccupations concernant les retombées pour les droits de la personne de la demande de zonage du Lynwood Charlton Centre. Comme je l’ai mentionné dans ma lettre du 24 janvier 2012, nous nous demandons si l’application à cette demande de distances radiales de séparation ne fait pas que l’on pourrait se demander si la ville de Hamilton n’est pas en train de créer des obstacles discriminatoires pour les personnes vulnérables.

Des enquêtes sur l’octroi de permis autorisant les logements locatifs sont lancées à North Bay et à Waterloo

Mars 8, 2012
Toronto – Deux enquêtes d’intérêt public de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) tenteront de déterminer si les nouveaux règlements sur l’octroi de permis autorisant les logements locatifs à North Bay et à Waterloo créent des obstacles discriminatoires au logement locatif. Les nouveaux règlements entreront en vigueur dans les deux municipalités au cours des prochains mois – celui de Waterloo le 1er avril 2012 et celui de North Bay le 1er mai 2012.

Dans la zone : Logement, droits de la personne et planification municipale

2012 - Le présent guide présente un aperçu des responsabilités en matière de droits de la personne qui reviennent aux municipalités dans le secteur du logement. Il fournit des renseignements sur les divers outils établis par la loi dont disposent les municipalités et explique comment les planificateurs municipaux, les conseillers, les gestionnaires de services de logement, les conseils d’administration de district des services sociaux et d’autres peuvent utiliser des « pratiques exemplaires » pour surmonter l’opposition discriminatoire locale et promouvoir le logement exempt de discrimination. Le guide peut également servir de ressource aux organismes et aux intervenants qui travaillent avec les municipalités pour faire valoir les droits de la personne en matière de logement.

Intégrer les droits de la personne à la planification municipale est l'objectif du nouveau guide de la CODP

Février 17, 2012

Kingston - Le procureur général John Gerretsen s'est joint, aujourd'hui, à Barbara Hall, commissaire en chef de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, pour lancer la publication Dans la zone : Logement, droits de la personne et planification municipale. Ce guide offre aux municipalités des renseignements sur leurs obligations légales ainsi que sur les outils et pratiques exemplaires qu'elles peuvent utiliser pour intégrer les droits de la personne dans les décisions sur le zonage et la planification qui concernent le logement.

FICHE DE RENSEIGNEMENTS No 3: Pauvreté, logement et droits de la personne dans le monde

Le Canada a reconnu le caractère fondamental du droit au logement convenable en ratifiant des instruments internationaux comme le Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels (PIDESC) et la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme. Le pays a en outre convenu de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour faire appliquer le droit au logement convenable.

L'ombre de la loi : Survol de la jurisprudence relative à la conciliation de droits contradictoires

e document explique le contexte juridique dans lequel s’inscrira le cadre stratégique de la CODP. Il est divisé en deux sections principales. La première présente un survol et un résumé des principes juridiques clés tirés de décisions judiciaires importantes. Cette section a pour but d’aider les lecteurs à comprendre le contexte juridique pertinent au moment de concilier des droits contradictoires, sinon d’opérer un quelconque rapprochement entre ces droits. La deuxième partie du document présente les principales causes traitant de droits contradictoires. Elle offre aussi des exemples de façons dont les tribunaux ont appliqué les décisions rendues dans les causes principales et les principes clés qui en découlent. La section est organisée selon la prévalence des types de conflits opposant des droits. Étant donné l’importance du contexte factuel pour la conciliation des droits, des détails sont fournis sur les circonstances de chaque affaire présentée.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - logement